Call us today to set up a free in-home assessment: (888) 493-3513

Home Care With a Commitment to Excellence

Share This

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Recent Posts

Browse by Date

Archives

MIRS BREAKING NEWS

Below is the recent update from the team at the MBIPC on the Auto No-Fault:

MIRS BREAKING NEWS: MCCA Slashes Vehicle Assessment 55% Following No-Fault Reform — 12:37 PM

The Michigan Catastrophic Claims Association today lowered to $100 the per vehicle assessment for the period of July 2, 2020 through June 30, 2021. The new fee is a reduction of 55%.

“The 55% reduction results directly from savings created by the cost controls for medical treatment and other changes made to Michigan’s no-fault insurance law on June 11, 2019. These changes are estimated to erase the MCCA’s deficit of approximately $2 billion and reduce the annual MCCA assessment by approximately $1 billion,” reads the MCCA statement.

Under the new no-fault law, insurance companies will charge the $100 per vehicle assessment only to drivers who choose to maintain unlimited lifetime personal injury protection (PIP) benefits.

Those who choose lower limits under Michigan’s revised no-fault insurance law avoid the assessment altogether, as long as the MCCA is not in a deficit position.

Kevin A. McKinney